Learn about the history of Tucker Hill Inn, an iconic and quintessential Vermont inn in Waitsfield.
Tucker Hill Inn’s history dates to 1948, when it was known as the Tucker Hill Lodge and Restaurant. The inn was built to provide accommodations for Sugarbush and Mad River Glen, two ski areas located just miles away from the in.. Up until the early 1950s, owners of Tucker Hill Lodge, Ann and Francis Martin, opened a 600-foot-long rope tow behind the lodge. Most likely, the Lodge’s rope tow closed due to Mad River Glen being just up the road from the Waitsfield inn.
According to Mad River Glenn’s magazine, “When Mad River Glen was opened in 1949, Ann and Frances Martin decided to move up from Boston and build the first purpose-built ski lodge in town. They constructed a cozy, rustic lodge with large fieldstone fireplaces, but that wasn’t all. They also installed a rope tow on the slope behind the inn. The 1949 Mad River Glen Housing List described it as, ‘Supplementing the Mad River Glen Aerial Chair Lift is the new Tucker Hill Lodge and Ski Tow… located three miles below Mad River Glen. A northeast slope for beginners and intermediates is served by a gasoline-operated rope tow 77 feet in length with a vertical descent of 150 feet… The slope is interspersed with trees for windbreaks and has a variety of choice runs with grades from 10 to 25 degrees.'”
The beams, woodworking, fireplaces and stonework outside at Tucker Hill Inn, was the handy work of Francis Martin, a master stonemason.
In 2005, Alison and Phillip Truckle purchased Tucker Hill Inn. They came to American from English in 1985 with the goal of becoming pub owners. Read more about the Truckles’ transition to becoming innkeepers at Tucker Hill Inn.
In November 2015, Patti and Kevin Begin purchased the inn from Alison and Phill Truckle.